Childhood Trauma Recovery. A Warm Welcome From David Hosier MSc.

childhood_trauma_effects

‘The mind is its own place, and in itself can make a heav’n of hell, a hell of heav’n.’

-John Milton, Paradise Lost (1667),
 Book 1, lines 254-255

How I might have reacted to being told I needed psychiatric help as a teenager.

The articles on this site are intended to serve as an accessible, informative, concise introduction to childhood trauma and child abuse and their relationship to post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), complex post-traumatic stress disorder, borderline personality disorder (BPD) and other conditions.

It is thought Marilyn Monroe suffered from borderline personality disorder (BPD) which is strongly associated with childhood trauma

It is thought Marilyn Monroe suffered from borderline personality disorder (BPD), which is strongly associated with childhood trauma

Both causes and effects of childhood trauma are examined in detail, as are treatments and therapies available to survivors.

I was educated at the University of London (Goldsmith’s College) and hold two degrees (BSc Hons and MSc) and a post-graduate teaching diploma; all three qualifications are in Psychology.

My interest in the impact of childhood trauma emerged during my undergraduate degree, my thesis for which was entitled: ‘The Effects of Childhood Depression on Academic Performance.’

I also have first-hand experience of severe childhood trauma, and its (in my own particular case, very nearly fatal) emotional consequences.

 bpd_ebookfire

Above eBooks now available on Amazon for immediate download, $4.99 each. CLICK HERE.

As a result of my experiences, as an adult I underwent several admissions to psychiatric units for treatment of suicidal ideation and overwhelming anxiety, spent five days on a life support machine in a coma, following what I (clearly erroneously) believed to be a fool-proof suicide attempt, electroconvulsive shock therapy, and, humiliatingly, homelessness.

My own experiences, insatiable intellectual curiosity, and training in psychology combine to fuel the powerful motivation necessary to run this site; I do this in the hope of helping both myself, and others, in our respective recoveries.

As understanding of the effects of childhood trauma progresses and with so much research now being conducted on the subject, we can all feel increasingly optimistic that our conditions (if we have them) can be effectively treated. There is, therefore, every reason to be hopeful.

I have worked as a researcher, teacher, lecturer and paper-boy (although not in that order, obviously). My writing interests extend beyond academic articles and I am currently working on the final draft of a novel (to be published mid 2014).

My qualifications  exceed those required for Graduate Membership of The British Psychological Society.

Contact Information:
email address: david@childhoodtraumarecovery.com

Facebook Address : facebook.com/davidhosiermsc

Address : CTR, 39-40 Gloucester Street, Brighton, East Sussex, United Kingdom, BN1 4RR.

David Hosier BSc Hons; MSc; PGDE(FAHE).